Who's Online
We have 12 guests online
User login
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

    View e-Privacy Directive Documents

On January 1st. 1933, a temporary church was opened, dedicated to St.Catherine of Siena, as a chapel of ease to All Saints Parish at Golborne. It stood on the land adjacent to the present Presbytery.

In 1956 Fr. John Connolly came to live in Mather Avenue to establish a new parish. The foundation stone of the Church was laid by the then Archbishop John Carmel Heenan on September 28th. 1958 and the church was opened by him the following year on June 3rd.

The old church then became the Parish Hall, a function it fulfilled until 1992 when it was replaced by the "Conference Room" - a new building joining the church to the Presbytery.

In March 1985, Fr. Connolly retired and Fr. Bernard Eager was appointed Parish Priest.

Between 1986 and 1989 the church was gradually reordered to suit the needs of the restored liturgy introduced by the Second Vatican Council. In December 1989, the bell was installed in the Tower, having been transferred from St. Lewis', Croft.

The Parish has two Permanent Deacons - Rev. Francis Newton, ordained in 1989 and now retired and Rev. Derek Morris, ordained in 1997. In 1995, Sister Anselm Nugent, a Sister of Mercy belonging to the Blackbrook Community, was appointed Parish Sister, a role she fulfilled with great success until her retirement in 2008.

On the retirmement of Canon Vincent Burrowes as Parish Priest of the neighbouring Parish of St. Lewis in Croft, Fr. Eager was appointed "Administrator" of that Parish and from January 13th. 2006, he took responsibility for the pastoral care of both parishes.

On September 8th. 2009, Fr. Eager retired PP of both parishes and was succeeded by Fr. Ron Johnson.